The Three Principles


“The Three Principles”

The triangle in the Kamili Yoga® title design is more than a stylish replacement for the letter A. It is a symbolic representation of each pillar of union and shows how their interconnectedness leads to complete connection.

Like all true systems of Yoga, Kamili Yoga® seeks union. Kanuni Tatu, “The Three Principles,” emphasize union with Self, with others, and with Spirit through personal, social, spiritual principles.

Union with Self

In order to fully connect with our Self, we must recognize and care for every dimension of our being, each symbolized by a different natural element. The physical Self, the body, is represented by the earth element. The emotional Self, the heart, is connected to the fire element. The mental Self is the mind and manifests as the water element. The spiritual Self, the air element, is our individual spirit. And a fifth dimension, the collective and divine universal Self that permeates all, is the space element. Together, all of these dimensions make up our complete being, our soul.

Another part of this union is Kanuni Binafsi, six “Personal Principles” of Self development. This practice of inner reflection helps us to properly nurture the fullness of who and what we are.

Union with Others

Connection with others is guided by Kanuni Za Kijamii, “Social Principles” that help us uplift each other and uphold our communities through concepts such as honor, peace, compassion, accountability, and gratitude. African philosophies also play a crucial role. The Ubuntu philosophy (“I am because we are”) of the Southern Africa and Ma’at (truth and justice) of Northern Africa are our two key philosophies for preserving union with others.

Union with Spirit

This union is about enhancing our connection with the Divine Source, of whom all creation is an extension and manifestation. Because one’s spiritual beliefs are an intimate decision, Kamili Yoga® does not dictate following a specific religion or faith system. Instead, we center the essential African components to aid in strengthening our personal union with Spirit. They are Mungu (“God”), Wahenga (“ancestors”), Mazingira (“nature”), Madhabahu (“altar”), and Sala (“prayer”). Each of these aspects play an important role in spiritual practice, and are guided by our own personal faiths.

The Nguzo Tatu are a necessary tenet in the core essence of Kamili Yoga™. If we have no connection to Self, to others, or to Spirit, we have nothing at all.

%d bloggers like this: